cucumber-avocado salad with feta + cilantro

DSC_8879
I saw a couple on the train yesterday that I was convinced had met on Match.com. I’m not sure why I was so sure of it, but I was. It was the first thing I thought when they got on the train and there wasn’t the slightest doubt in my mind: date number nine and a half.
IMG_0640
These two had slipped in a pupil hole so big, gazing at each other in ways that could even melt the heat, that they couldn’t have noticed my cool contemplation of what their matching profiles must look like. She was wearing wedges and he was carrying one of her shopping bags.
DSC_8864
I guess, having zero experience myself with online dating, I should keep my lips completely zipped. Don’t knock it before you try it, right? The craziest story I’ve ever heard from a friend about a date online that went offline, was one that involved a guy that was a bit obsessive about extreme sports. He had plans to jump from the Brooklyn bridge as unequipped as possible. Needless to say, she was neither a doctor nor in insurance and ran swiftly in the opposite direction. Suitors seeking cohorts in life-threatening adventure need not apply.
IMG_0647
But before I even saw the couple dazed deep in gaze, I was thinking about cucumbers crisp enough to crunch in your mouth like watermelon. Typical! Actually, one of my favorite destinations for a cucumber is in a smooth and creamy tzatziki. The kind that you smother over warm pita. There’s something so cooling and refreshing about chilled cucumber and Greek yogurt.
DSC_8865
In the same logic, I’m partial to cucumbers whose crispiness is matched with an especially creamy avocado that’s then been dressed in accentuating ways — a bit of lemon juice and olive oil, some pepper, vinegar. Cilantro.
On some afternoons, it’s nice to skip the hoopla and keep it mostly simple.
DSC_8877
  • 1 cucumber chopped in 1/2″ medallions, then halved, seeds removed
  • 1 avocado, chopped
  • big handful fresh cilantro, stems removed
  • juice of 1/2 lemon
  • 1/2 small yellow onion, sliced into rings
  • 1/3 cup apple cider vinegar
  • 1/4 cup water
  • 2-3 tablespoons olive oil
  • teaspoon sugar
  • feta cheese, crumbled, for sprinkling
  • salt and pepper to taste

In a small bowl, combine apple cide vinegar, water and sugar, stir to dissolve sugar. Add onion rings, submerging, and cover with plastic wrap, set aside. In a medium bowl, combine cucumber with cilantro, lemon juice and olive oil. Using a slotted spoon, transfer onion rings to cucumber mixture and pour 1/4 cup of cider vinegar mixture over salad. Discard remainder of vinegar mix. Sprinkle chunks of avocado across the top of the salad and season with salt, pepper and more lemon juice if desired. Finish with a sprinkle of crumbled feta cheese.

Share a thought!

